Indiana University

Indiana University will present 2014 Distinguished Teaching Awards during Founders Day

Honorees represent Bloomington, IUPUI, IU Northwest campuses

  • April 1, 2014


BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Indiana University will honor 11 faculty members and three graduate students for excellence in teaching, research and service to the university at the 2014 Celebration of Distinguished Teaching dinner Friday, April 4. The dinner is a part of IU’s Founders Day, an annual spring celebration that marks the university’s founding in 1820.

IU President Michael A. McRobbie will present the awards during the dinner to honorees hailing from the Bloomington, IU Northwest and Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis campuses.

"These awards honor the passion and dedication that IU’s exceptional faculty members exhibit every day as they prepare our students for success in the world beyond the classroom. Their exemplary accomplishments in teaching and research make us all proud to be part of this great university," McRobbie said.

New distinguished professors

As previously announced in December, five professors, all from the IU Bloomington campus and its College of Arts and Sciences, have been elevated to the distinguished rank.

The new distinguished professors are John Edward Bodner, the Chancellor’s Professor of History in the Department of History; David E. Clemmer, the Robert and Marjorie Mann Chair of Chemistry in the Department of Chemistry; Krishnan Raghavachari, Department of Chemistry; Olaf Sporns, Provost Professor, Department of Psychological and Brain Sciences; and Roger Meyer Temam, College Professor of Mathematics, Department of Mathematics.

The rank of distinguished professor, the most prestigious academic appointment Indiana University can bestow upon its faculty, was created by the IU Board of Trustees in 1967. The title is conferred by the university president with approval of the board.

complete list of Indiana University Distinguished Professors, along with titled professors and additional information, is available online.

Teaching award winners

This year the Lieber Memorial Awards for distinguished teaching all go to faculty and doctoral students on the IU Bloomington campus.

Jeanne M. Sept, professor in the College of Arts and Sciences’ Department of Anthropology, will receive the Frederic Bachman Lieber Memorial Award. The award is the oldest of IU’s teaching awards, established in 1954 by Katie D. Bachman in memory of her grandson and further endowed by Mrs. Herman Lieber.

The Lieber Associate Instructor Award for outstanding teaching among the university’s graduate students who combine their programs of advanced study with instructional employment in their schools and departments went to three instructors: Tony G. Hessenthaler in the College of Arts and Sciences’ Department of Spanish and Portuguese; David H. K. Nguyen in the School of Education’s Department of Educational Leadership and Policy Studies; and Dana Stephanie Prewitt, in the College of Arts and Sciences’ Department of Sociology.

The President’s Award for Teaching will be awarded to Jon Becker, a lecturer in Indiana University Northwest’s Department of Mathematics and Actuarial Science; and to M. Kim Saxton, a clinical associate professor in the Kelley School of Business at IUPUI. This award was established in 1974 to recognize outstanding teaching, research or service. As a distinguished teaching award, it serves to honor the most exceptional faculty, their devotion to students and their strong commitment to the university’s fundamental missions of excellence in education and research.

Barbara Manz Friesth becomes the first recipient of the President’s Award for Excellence in Teaching and Learning Technology, established in 2013 to honor highly innovative faculty members who have contributed significantly to the enhancement of teaching and learning at Indiana University through the sustained and innovative use of technology.  

Service award winners

The W. George Pinnell Award for Outstanding Service will be given to Michael W. Hamburger, professor in the College of Arts and Sciences’ Department of Geological Sciences. The award, established in 1988, recognizes faculty members and librarians who have shown exceptional breadth of involvement in service to the university, their profession or the public.

The John W. Ryan Award for Distinguished Contributions to International Programs and Studies will be given to E. Angeles Martínez Mier, an associate professor in the IU School of Dentistry’s Department of Preventive and Community Dentistry at IUPUI. Initiated in 1991, this honors faculty members and librarians from all campuses for exceptional contributions to the university’s international programs and studies.

Related Links

Media Contacts

Mark Land

Associate vice president, IU Communications

Ryan Piurek

Director, news and media, IU Communications