Indiana University

Indiana University students, graduates receive NSF Graduate Research Fellowships

  • April 16, 2014


BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- More than two dozen Indiana University undergraduates, recent alumni and graduate students have been selected to receive Graduate Research Fellowships, nationally competitive awards presented by the National Science Foundation.

They include students who received or will receive bachelor's degrees from IU Bloomington, IU South Bend and Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis, along with current graduate students.

The fellowship program provides three years of financial support for graduate study in a field within the National Science Foundation's mission leading to a research-based master's or doctoral degree. It offers an annual stipend of $32,000 and a $12,000 cost-of-education allowance to the graduate institution.

Fellows who earned or will earn undergraduate degrees from IU Bloomington, their fields of study and current institutions if available:

  • Clayton Brown, biochemistry, Stanford University School of Medicine
  • Kyle Brown, nuclear chemistry, Washington University
  • Laura Engelhardt, developmental psychology, University of Texas
  • Yuchen Gao, cell biology, University of California, San Francisco
  • Swathi Gujral, cognitive neuroscience, University of Pittsburgh
  • Zachary Hallberg, chemistry, University of California, Berkeley
  • Robert Hawkins, computational psychology, Indiana University
  • Alyssa Kersey, cognitive neuroscience, University of Rochester
  • Peter Kvam, computational psychology, Michigan State University
  • Austin Reynolds, biological anthropology, University of Texas
  • Olivia Schmidt, ecology
  • Gabrielle Sell, neurosciences, Johns Hopkins University
  • Leah Sheline, developmental psychology, Temple University

Fellows who earned or will earn undergraduate degrees from IU South Bend, their fields of study and current institutions:

  • Ashley Compton, biochemistry, IU South Bend
  • Bryan Dull, archaeology
  • Bonnie Jaskowski Huge, analytical chemistry, University of Notre Dame
  • Mark Klehfoth, theoretical physics, IU South Bend
  • Luis Morales, nuclear physics and astronomy, IU South Bend

Fellow who earned or will earn undergraduate degree from IUPUI, field of study and current institution:

  • Jacob Layer, molecular biology, Harvard University

Fellows enrolled as graduate students at IU Bloomington, their baccalaureate institution and field of study:

  • Ashley Schnakenberg, Hobart and William Smith Colleges, clinical psychology
  • Jennifer Bush, Princeton University, clinical psychology
  • Caroline Hoyniak, Saint Louis University, developmental psychology
  • Briana Whitaker, University of North Carolina, ecology
  • Melissa Donaldson, Wake Forest University, atmospheric chemistry
  • Samuel Kye, Wheaton College, sociology

Since 1952, the National Science Foundation has provided fellowships to students selected early in their graduate careers based on their demonstrated potential for significant achievements in science and engineering. The 2,000 fellows in the 2014 national class come from 442 baccalaureate institutions. Just over half are women, and nearly 20 percent are from underrepresented minority groups.

Related Links

Media Contacts

Steve Hinnefeld