Indiana University

Two new IU trustees appointed by Gov. Mike Pence

  • July 2, 2014


BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Indiana University President Michael A. McRobbie welcomed the selection of two new members of the IU Board of Trustees.

The new board members, announced earlier today by Indiana Gov. Mike Pence, are:

Andrew F. Mohr, president and CEO of Andy Mohr Automotive Group, based in Plainfield, Ind. A first-generation automobile dealer, Mohr founded his company in 1993 in Greencastle, Ind. Since its founding, Andy Mohr Automotive Group has grown to become one of the largest auto groups in the state of Indiana, representing 11 vehicle brands at nine locations in Indianapolis, Fishers, Plainfield and Avon. Today, it employs over 700 people in Central Indiana.

In 2012, IU Athletics announced it was officially naming its new softball facility Andy Mohr Field in honor of a major gift from Mohr, who has been a longtime supporter of the IU Varsity Club and intercollegiate athletics at the university. Mohr, who grew up in Indianapolis and Brownsburg, earned a Bachelor of Science degree from the IU School of Public and Environmental Affairs. He resides in Indianapolis with his wife, Lorna, a fellow IU graduate, and their two children.

Michael J. Mirro, chief academic research officer for Parkview Health System, a not-for-profit, community-based health system serving a northeast Indiana and northwest Ohio population of more than 820,000. Mirro, of Allen County, specializes in cardiovascular disease and has been in practice for 40 years.

Mirro has served as past chairman of the Greater Fort Wayne Chamber of Commerce, founding board chair of the Northeast Indiana Innovation Center and founding director of Tower Bank. He has also been a member of the advisory board at the IU School of Informatics and Computing.

A fellow of the American College of Cardiology, he earned his undergraduate degree from Loyola University in Chicago and his medical degree from the Indiana University School of Medicine. He also holds an honorary Doctor of Science degree from Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne. 

Mohr and Mirro were appointed to three-year terms, effective July 1. They will succeed Thomas E. Reilly Jr., who resigned as board chair, and William R. Cast; both were appointed to the board in 2005.

“We are very pleased that Governor Pence has selected two outstanding individuals to serve in these important roles,” McRobbie said. “Andrew Mohr and Michael Mirro have distinguished themselves as leaders and innovators in their respective fields, while also demonstrating a strong commitment to Indiana University, higher education and improving the communities in which they work and live. We are excited to begin working with them as we reaffirm our own commitment to IU’s traditions of academic and research excellence.

“I also want to personally thank Tom Reilly and Bill Cast for their leadership and wise counsel over the past nine years. I have enjoyed the opportunity to work with them on a wide range of issues during my presidency that have helped to strengthen IU academically and financially, and which have provided the foundation for future growth and success.

“Tom and Bill also share an affection for IU and have been unwavering in their commitment to ensuring that the university maintains its standing as one of the finest public universities in the country. The entire IU community -- students, employees, alumni and supporters -- owe Tom and Bill a debt of gratitude for their dedicated service.”

With Reilly’s resignation, current vice chair of the board, MaryEllen Bishop, will assume the role of board chair. She will be the first woman to serve in the position. 

Bishop, of Carmel, Ind., was re-elected by IU graduates to a second three-year term on the Board of Trustees in 2013. She is a graduate of the IU Kelley School of Business and the IU Robert H. McKinney School of Law, and an attorney with Cohen, Garelick & Glazier in Indianapolis.

“Over the past four years, MaryEllen has provided wise counsel to myself and members of the board, while also serving as a passionate advocate for IU alumni and other friends of the university,” McRobbie said.

The new trustees will be officially sworn in at the next meeting, scheduled for Aug. 7 and 8 on the IU Bloomington campus. Recommendations for all new officer appointments that are required for the board will be considered at the next meeting.

IU has a nine-member board, with six members appointed by the state's governor. IU alumni select the other three members, with one alumni board seat coming open each year. On Monday, IU alumni re-elected Patrick A. Shoulders of Evansville, Ind., to the board. He was initially appointed an IU trustee in 2002. 

Related Links

Media Contacts

Mark Land

Associate vice president, IU Communications

Ryan Piurek