Indiana University to present 2015 Distinguished Teaching Awards

  • April 9, 2015


BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Indiana University will honor 16 faculty members and three graduate students for excellence in teaching, research and service to the university Friday, April 10, at the 2015 Celebration of Distinguished Teaching dinner. The dinner, which will be held at the Indiana Memorial Union, is a part of IU's Founders Day, an annual spring celebration that marks the university's founding in 1820.

IU President Michael A. McRobbie will present the awards during the dinner to honorees hailing from the IU Bloomington, IU Kokomo, IU Northwest, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis, IU South Bend and IU Southeast campuses.

"As the bicentennial of Indiana University approaches, we are reminded that while much has changed over the course of IU's history, our fundamental mission -- excellence in education and research -- remains unchanged," McRobbie said. "This annual ceremony helps to foster and extend a culture of excellence and recognizes our outstanding faculty for their dedication to their disciplines, their devotion to their students and their tireless efforts on behalf of Indiana University."

New distinguished professors

As previously announced in February, six IU researchers and scholars were promoted to distinguished professor, the most prestigious academic appointment Indiana University can bestow upon its faculty.

The six are biomedical researcher Janet S. Carpenter of the School of Nursing and psychiatric geneticist John I. Nurnberger Jr. of the School of Medicine, both at IUPUI; and Central Eurasian studies scholar Jamsheed K. Choksy, biochemist Craig S. Pikaard, anthropologist Richard R. Wilk and mathematician Kevin Zumbrun, all of the College of Arts and Sciences at IU Bloomington.

The rank of distinguished professor was created by the IU Board of Trustees in 1967. The title is conferred by the university president with approval of the board. A complete list of IU Distinguished Professors, along with titled professors and additional information, is available online.

Teaching award winners

Subir Bandyopadhyay, professor of marketing in the School of Business at IU Northwest, and Dmitriy Chulkov, professor of economics and management information systems in the School of Business at IU Kokomo, will receive the Frederic Bachman Lieber Memorial Award. The award is the oldest of IU's teaching awards, established in 1954 by Katie D. Bachman in memory of her grandson and further endowed by Mrs. Herman Lieber.

The Herman Frederic Lieber Memorial Award will go to James VanderVeen, associate professor of anthropology at IU South Bend. Established in 1961, this teaching award was first sponsored by the IU Foundation and is now sponsored by Mrs. Herman Lieber of Indianapolis.

The Lieber Memorial Teaching Associate Award for outstanding teaching goes to the university's graduate students who combine their programs of advanced study with instructional employment in their schools and departments. This year's recipients are all doctoral students at IU Bloomington: Alyssa M. Lederer in the School of Public Health-Bloomington's Department of Applied Health Science; Daniel James O'Neill in the School of Education's Department of Counseling and Educational Psychology; and Jamie Oslawski-Lopez in the College of Arts and Sciences' Department of Sociology.

The President's Award for Teaching will be awarded to Zoran Kilibarda, associate professor and chair of the Department of Geosciences at IU Northwest. This award was established in 1974 to recognize outstanding teaching, research or service. As a distinguished teaching award, it serves to honor the most exceptional faculty, their devotion to students and their strong commitment to the university's fundamental missions of excellence in education and research.

Benjamin A. Motz, senior lecturer and director of undergraduate instruction and online development in the Department of Psychological and Brains Sciences at IU Bloomington's College of Arts and Sciences, becomes the second recipient of the President's Award for Excellence in Teaching and Learning Technology. This award was established in 2013 to honor highly innovative faculty members who have contributed significantly to the enhancement of teaching and learning at IU through sustained and innovative use of technology.

Service award winners

The W. George Pinnell Award for Outstanding Service will be given to two faculty members this year: Dorothy Ige Campbell of the Department of Communication at IU Northwest and Michelle Howenstine, professor and associate dean for graduate medical education in the IU School of Medicine at IUPUI. The award, established in 1988, recognizes faculty members and librarians who have shown exceptional breadth of involvement in service to the university, their profession or the public.

The John W. Ryan Award for Distinguished Contributions to International Programs and Studies will be given to Alfred C. Aman, the Roscoe C. O'Byrne Professor at the IU Maurer School of Law, and Magdalena Herdoíza-Estévez, professor of education and international studies at IU Southeast. Initiated in 1991, this award honors faculty members and librarians from all campuses for exceptional contributions to the university's international programs and studies.

The Thomas Ehrlich Award for Excellence in Service Learning honors faculty members who have shown outstanding leadership in integrating community and public service into their teaching. It is named after IU President Emeritus Thomas Ehrlich, who led the university from 1987 to 1994. This year's award will be given to Elizabeth Wood, associate professor of education and director and associate professor of museum studies at IUPUI.

Related Links

Media Contacts

Mark Land

Associate vice president, IU Communications

Ryan Piurek

Margie Smith-Simmons