Indiana University launches search for new vice president for research

  • April 8, 2015


BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- A search committee has been formed to identify candidates for the position of Indiana University vice president for research, the university has announced.

Bernice Pescosolido, Distinguished Professor of Sociology in the College of Arts and Sciences at IU Bloomington, and David B. Burr, associate vice chancellor for research at Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis, will co-chair the 18-member committee. The group includes faculty, administrators and students representing IU’s Bloomington, Indianapolis and regional campuses.

The new vice president will succeed Jorge José, who will step down when his five-year appointment ends July 31, 2015. José will serve as Rudy Professor of Physics at IU Bloomington and a member of the Department of Cellular and Integrative Physiology at the IU School of Medicine in Indianapolis.

“I am grateful that Professor Pescosolido, Associate Vice Chancellor Burr and the other members have agreed to undertake this search, which is essential to the university’s future success as a research institution,” IU President Michael A. McRobbie said. “Vice President José has set a high bar with his hard work and leadership. I am very pleased that he will continue to contribute to IU’s success with his own important research on neuroscience and neurological disorders.”

To build on the success achieved by José, the committee will conduct an internal search within Indiana University. It will make its recommendations to McRobbie. The university hopes to have a new vice president identified by the time José steps down.

José oversaw an 18 percent increase in federally funded research by Indiana University faculty members in his first four years as vice president for research. The strategic plan for research at IU, the development of which was overseen by his office, helped shape IU’s bicentennial strategic priorities approved by the IU Board of Trustees in December 2014.

He also prioritized efforts to decrease the administrative burden on researchers through increased efficiency, including the implementation of new grants administration software and of an online research compliance review system that greatly reduced turnaround times for research protocols.

Pescosolido, in addition to her Department of Sociology appointment, is director of the Indiana Consortium for Mental Health Services Research. Burr is also a Distinguished Professor in the Department of Anatomy and Cell Biology in the IU School of Medicine and an adjunct professor of biomedical engineering in the IUPUI School of Engineering and Technology.

Other members of the search committee include:

  • John S. Applegate, executive vice president for university academic affairs and Walter W. Foskett Professor of Law in the IU Maurer School of Law, Bloomington
  • Tony Armstrong, president and CEO, IU Research and Technology Corp.
  • Katy Börner, Victor H. Yngve Professor of Information Science, School of Informatics and Computing, IU Bloomington
  • Janet S. Carpenter, associate dean for research and Distinguished Professor, IU School of Nursing; Sally Reahard Chair and director, Center for Enhancing Quality of Life in Chronic Illness; and co-director in Training in Behavioral Nursing Research
  • Fred H. Cate, Distinguished Professor and C. Ben Dutton Professor of Law, IU Maurer School of Law; senior fellow, Center for Applied Cybersecurity Research; director, Center for Law, Ethics and Applied Research in Health Information
  • Tatiana Foroud, Chancellor’s Professor and P. Michael Conneally Professor of Medical and Molecular Genetics and director of Hereditary Genomics Studies at the IU School of Medicine
  • David P. Giedroc, professor and chair, Department of Chemistry, College of Arts and Sciences, IU Bloomington
  • James H. Hill, assistant professor of computer science, School of Science, IUPUI
  • Ellen Ketterson, Distinguished Professor of Biology and Gender Studies, College of Arts and Sciences, IU Bloomington
  • Steven A. Martin, associate vice president for research administration
  • Ronit Patnaik, medical student and president, Class of 2018, Medical Student Council, IU School of Medicine
  • Simon Rhodes, dean and professor of biology, School of Science, IUPUI; adjunct professor, IU School of Medicine
  • Olaf Sporns, Distinguished Professor, Provost Professor, Robert H. Shaffer Chair, Department of Psychological and Brian Sciences, College of Arts and Sciences, IU Bloomington
  • Justin Vasel, doctoral student, Department of Physics; vice president, Graduate and Professional Student Organization, IU Bloomington
  • Eva White, associate professor of English, School of Humanities and Social Sciences, Indiana University Kokomo
  • Marianne Wokeck, associate dean for academic affairs, Chancellor’s Professor of History, School of Liberal Arts; adjunct professor, American studies, new media, women’s studies and University College, IUPUI

The vice president for research works with various university offices, campus leaders and deans to increase and diversify research and creative works at IU, attract external funding and develop public-private partnerships, technology transfer, graduate education and intercampus research opportunities.

In addition to being responsible for research administration and research compliance, the vice president oversees and is responsible for the Office of the Vice Provost for Research at IU Bloomington and the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research at IUPUI.

More information about the search is available online.

Related Links

Media Contacts

Mark Land

Associate vice president, IU Communications

Jennifer Piurek

  • Office of the Provost and Executive Vice President
  • Office 812-856-4886
  • Cell 812-340-1041