MaryEllen Bishop re-elected as Indiana University alumni trustee

  • June 30, 2016


BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Indiana University graduates have re-elected MaryEllen Bishop of Carmel, Ind., to a third three-year term on the IU Board of Trustees.

Bishop, a graduate of the Kelley School of Business and the IU Robert H. McKinney School of Law and an attorney with Cohen, Garelick & Glazier in Indianapolis, was initially elected as an IU trustee in 2010. In this year's election, she ran unopposed and received a total of 6,471 votes.

“I am so honored to have the opportunity to serve another term on the IU Board of Trustees,” Bishop said. “Although I ran unopposed in this election, Indiana law required that I be voted in. I am in awe of the number of IU graduates who still took the time to vote. Thank you for showing how you truly care about your university. I appreciate all of your support.”

In accordance with state law, the annual election is conducted by the dean of University Libraries on the Bloomington campus, with assistance from the IU Alumni Association. Library staff and students undertook the task of counting the ballots.

This was the ninth year that alumni could vote online, and 5,127 ballots were cast in that manner. There were 1,344 valid paper ballots.

"In her previous two terms as Indiana University alumni trustee, MaryEllen has proven to be a strong, tireless and passionate advocate for the university and our extensive efforts in recent years to strengthen IU’s traditions of excellence in education, research and engagement in the life of our state," said IU President Michael A. McRobbie. "She has also been a leading voice as we work together to recruit and retain the best students, faculty and staff, and ensure the continued affordability and accessibility of an IU education.
"We congratulate MaryEllen on earning a third term to the board and look forward to her ongoing investment in Indiana University."

Bishop has been active in IU organizations for many years, serving on the IU Women's Philanthropy Council, the IU Athletics Committee and the McKinney School of Law board of visitors and as chairwoman of the IU Alumni Association in 2007-08. On the Board of Trustees, she has chaired the external relations committee and served on the facilities and academic affairs committees.

She is a fellow in the Indiana State Bar Foundation and a distinguished fellow in the Indianapolis Bar Foundation, and she has played an active role in a variety of professional organizations, earning national citations for her work.

IU has nine trustees, three of whom are elected by alumni. The other two alumni trustees are Philip N. Eskew Jr. of North Webster, Ind., and Patrick A. Shoulders of Evansville, Ind. Shoulders was elected to a fifth three-year term in 2014, while Eskew was elected to a third three-year term last year.

The remaining trustees are appointed by Indiana Gov. Mike Pence.

Related Links

MaryEllen Bishop

MaryEllen Bishop

Print-Quality Photo

Media Contacts

Mark Land

Associate vice president, IU Communications