Indiana University president elected a member of the Council on Foreign Relations

  • July 7, 2016


BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Indiana University President Michael A. McRobbie has been elected a member of the prestigious Council on Foreign Relations.

Founded in 1921, the Council on Foreign Relations is an independent, nonpartisan membership organization, think tank and publisher specializing in U.S. foreign policy and international affairs. With more than 4,900 members, the council's roster features top government officials, including several former U.S. secretaries of state, as well as renowned scholars, business executives, acclaimed journalists, prominent lawyers and distinguished professionals from the nonprofit sector.

"I am deeply honored to join such a highly respected and influential institution, whose members for decades have made major contributions to American foreign policy and the engagement more generally of the United States globally," McRobbie said.

"I am also pleased to serve on the council with several prominent scholars, global statesmen and accomplished alumni of Indiana University," he added.

This is the second major international recognition for IU and McRobbie in the past month. In June, McRobbie accepted the prestigious Bicentenary Medal of the University of Warsaw, awarded in recognition of the 40 years of active partnership between IU and one of Poland's top institutions of higher education.

McRobbie will join several notable Hoosier alumni on the council, including former U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh, former U.S. Secretary of Defense Robert Gates and former U.S. Rep. Lee Hamilton. 

Hamilton, senior advisor to the Center on Representative Government at IU, is one of several current members of the council who are affiliated with IU's School of Global and International Studies. Others are Lee A. Feinstein, founding dean and former U.S. ambassador to Poland; Sumit Ganguly, the Tagore Chair in Indian Cultures and Civilizations and director of IU's Center on American and Global Security; and Feisal Istrabadi, founding director of IU's Center for the Study of the Middle East, former ambassador of Iraq to the United Nations, and a professor of international law and diplomacy at the IU Maurer School of Law.

Other IU-affiliated members of the council include Fred Cate, IU vice president for research and distinguished professor and C. Ben Dutton Professor of Law at the IU Maurer School of Law; and Scott Shackelford, assistant professor of business law and ethics at the IU Kelley School of Business. Cate and Shackelford both serve as senior fellows at IU's Center for Applied Cybersecurity Research. McRobbie's election brings to about seven the number of IU faculty members who are members of the council.

The Council on Foreign Relations regularly convenes meetings at its headquarters in New York and in Washington, D.C., and other cities, where senior government officials, members of Congress, global leaders and prominent thinkers come together with council members to discuss and debate major international issues.

McRobbie's invitation to join the council comes after it was announced earlier this year that he will receive the 2016 International Citizen of the Year Award, which recognizes those who have made outstanding contributions to the globalization of Indiana.

Related Links

Michael A. McRobbie

Michael A. McRobbie

Print-Quality Photo

Media Contacts

Mark Land

Associate vice president, IU Communications

Ryan Piurek