Anna Williams named Indiana University student trustee, Phil Eskew re-elected to board by alumni

  • June 30, 2015


BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – Anna M. Williams, an IU Bloomington graduate student from Indianapolis, has been appointed student trustee for Indiana University. Gov. Mike Pence appointed Williams to a two-year term on the IU Board of Trustees, beginning July 1.

Williams is a dual master’s degree student at Indiana University Bloomington, on track to graduate in May 2017 with a Master of Public Affairs from the School of Public and Environmental Affairs and a Master of European Affairs from the Institute for European Studies.

She succeeds Janice Farlow, who earned a Ph.D. in May 2015 and is currently pursuing an M.D. from the IU School of Medicine. Farlow has served as student trustee since July 2013.

“I applaud Gov. Pence for selecting Anna to the Board of Trustees representing IU students and am delighted to welcome her to the board,” said IU President Michael A. McRobbie. “Anna is an outstanding student at IU Bloomington, who has been extremely active in university organizations and student government during her time as both an undergraduate and graduate student.

"I have every confidence Anna will build on the terrific work done over the past two years by Janice, to whom the university owes a great debt of gratitude for her service."

"I am honored to serve IU as trustee,” Williams said. “My Indiana University experience has been rich, and in embarking on this new chapter I hope to ensure equally meaningful opportunities for all of IU’s students. I am eager to serve Indiana and the university in reaching an even higher standard of excellence now and in the generations to come."

Philip N. Eskew Jr., a retired physician from North Webster, Ind., has been elected to a fourth term as IU alumni trustee. Eskew’s term is for three years, also beginning July 1. He was first elected to the board in 2006 and was re-elected in 2009 and 2012.

Eskew, who earned his medical degree from the IU School of Medicine in 1970, is chair of the trustees’ facilities committee, a life member of the IU Alumni Association and a member of several IU advisory boards. In alumni trustee balloting that closed today, Eskew received 5,340 votes to 4,220 for Jay Asdell, a South Bend dentist, and 2,242 for Mike Wilcox, superintendent of Richland-Bean Blossom Community School Corp. in Ellettsville, Ind.

“Congratulations to Phil on being selected by our alumni for another three-year term as trustee,” McRobbie said. “Phil’s longstanding support for IU is well known and he has made an indelible contribution to the university and the board over the past nine years. I look forward to continuing to work closely with Phil over the next three years."

Williams earned a B.A. from IU Bloomington in May 2010 with majors in international studies and psychology, academic concentrations in Western Europe and in nations, states and boundaries, and minors in political science and Spanish.

She began her student career at Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis. After two years she transferred to IU Bloomington, where she was heavily involved in campus activities. She was one of two students appointed to the Indiana Memorial Union centennial planning committee and served as a director of the IU Student Association Funding Board, which allocated $450,000 to more than 300 student organizations.

As a graduate student, she has served as an associate instructor in the Department of Spanish and Portuguese and has been a representative to the assembly of the Graduate and Professional Student Government and an English language tutor for international students.

She has worked on international trade with the Trans-Atlantic Business Council, as an analyst for Google Inc., a policy intern for the European Union Center, a translator and English instructor in Madrid, Spain and a litigation assistant with the Brinks Gilson & Lione law firm in Chicago. She studied abroad in Spain and Italy as an IU undergraduate.

Indiana University has a nine-member board of trustees. Six members, including a student trustee, are appointed by the state's governor. IU alumni select the other three members, with one alumni board seat coming open each year. The student trustee serves a two-year term and other trustees serve three-year terms.

Related Links

Anna Williams

Anna Williams

Print-Quality Photo

Media Contacts

Mark Land

Associate vice president, IU Communications